[I'm Thankful For] Laughter

Day 17:
I’m thankful for laughter.

I love to laugh. I’m thankful that laughter is so often the expression our heart takes when it overflows with joy. It is such a beautiful thing. Reflecting upon the joy of the Lord through laughter puts life back into perspective, as we focus upon the joys of knowing Christ, of being set free from bondage, of being loved by the awesome God of the universe. I’m thankful for a God who gave us the ability to find joy in the little things in life. I’m thankful that joy and laughter, sorrow and tears are all a necessary part of life, leading us closer to becoming more like Christ, teaching us to praise Him in all circumstances. I’m thankful that laughter is contagious. I’m thankful for the power that laughter holds in making a difference, not only in our own lives and circumstances but in the lives of others as well. I’m thankful that even in the darkest of days, when all seems wrong with the world and all is asunder, joy comes with the morning.

I’m thankful for the many different aspects of laughter. I’m thankful for the laughter in worship that just bubbles over as I’m dancing before His throne. I’m thankful for silly giggles over certain hollywood actors, like all teenage girls do at some point in their life. I’m thankful for hearty laughter shared over the dinner table with my family. I’m thankful for uncontrollable laughter at the wee hours of the morning when everyone is tired and hyper and the silliest things become dreadfully hilarious for no reason. I’m thankful for laughter that erupts in the heat of turmoil, when you are frustrated beyond no end, and you throw your hands up and laugh. I’m thankful for laughter and joy that comes after my heart is broken, after I have wept until my sobs become silent, and I’m laid bare, and He reminds me of His tender mercies, His loving promises.

I’m thankful that God gave us the ability to laugh. That He molded and created us to share and express joy in Him and with Him and because of Him. It is a truly beautiful thing. So let’s spend a moment thanking Him and cherish the giggles, the guffaws, the chortles, the snickers, the cackles, the titters, and the laughter in our lives.

Leave a Reply

